Boards, Councils and Committees

The formation of these boards and groups is constituted under various legislation and other requirements in support of the work of the diocese.

To find out more follow any of the following links:

Bishop's Council and Standing Committee
Board of Education
Finance Group of Bishop's Council
Houses and Glebe Committee
Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee
Diocesan Society
Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (DAC)
Panel of Examiners and Assessors
Ministry Division Selectors
Vacancy in See Committee

Ministry Council (in formation)
This is a new sub group of the Bishop's Council and is currently in development. This links with the new post of Director of Discipleship and Ministry for Mission.
Job Description for Director of Discipleship and Ministry for Mission

Bishop's Council and Standing Committee (BCSC)

The BCSC is the Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod. It plans the business of the Synod, advises it, and transacts its business when not in session. As Bishop's Council, it advises the Bishop, appoints members to various committees, and formulates, discusses and co-ordinates policies relating to the life and work of the diocese. 
Chair: The Bishop of Newcastle
Secretary: The Diocesan Secretary, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields NE29 6HS.  Tel: 0191 270 4114 E-mail:

Membership: The Bishop of Newcastle; the Bishop of Berwick; Canon Simon Harper; the Very Revd Christopher Dalliston; the Ven Geoff Miller; the Ven Peter Robinson; Canon Carol Wolstenholme; the Revd Canon John Sinclair; the Revd Canon Paul Scott; Dr John Appleby; Izzy McDonald-Booth; Liz Chawick; Matthew King; Dr Hilary Elder; Canon Sue Hart; the Revd Canon Christine Brown; the Revd Rachel Wood; the Revd Dr Benjamin Carter
In Attendance: Diocesan Secretary; Bishop's Chaplain

Finance Group of Bishop's Council 

Chair: Canon Simon Harper
Secretary: the Diocesan Secretary, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4100 E-mail:

Membership: Canon Simon Harper; Mrs Liz Kerry; the Ven Geoff Miller; the Ven Peter Robinson; Dr John Appleby; Miss Sue Robertson; Miss Izzy McDonald-Booth
In Attendance: Diocesan Secretary; Diocesan Accountant

Board of Education

Each Church of England diocese is required by law (under the Diocesan Education Board Measure) to set up a Board of Education whose function is to look after the interests of its church schools. Diocesan Boards of Education work with head teachers, governors, Local Education Authorities and the Department for Education and Skills to uphold and enrich the distinctive contribution of church schools to the state education system.

The Newcastle Diocesan Education Board at present has three full-time staff, supplemented by additional consultant and volunteer support. The work of the staff, volunteers and Board members covers a wide range of areas: representing the diocese on a variety of committees and statutory bodies; liaising with LEA and other officers; supporting schools by providing help and in-service training on a wide range of issues including RE and school worship and by supporting and training governors. The Board aims to facilitate the working together of governors, teachers, parents, church and other partners to ensure that the quality of education offered to the children in our church schools
Chair: The Ven Peter Robinson
Secretary: the Director of Education, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS

Houses and Glebe Committee

The Houses and Glebe Committee is constituted under the Repair of Benefice Buildings Measure 1972 as a Committee of the BCSC to which it must report annually.

The Committee is required to appoint surveyors, initiate inspections, and execute agreed repairs to parsonage houses. The Committee also deals with some other diocesan houses. It may, but is not required to, assist with the improvement, upgrading and modernisation of houses. Parsonages may not be altered, extended, demolished, purchased or sold without the approval of the Committee.

Click here for resources from the Houses and Glebe Committee

Chair: Canon R Windass
Secretary: Mr Ian Beswick, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4125 E-mail:
Membership: Canon Roger Windass; the Ven Geoff Miller; the Ven Peter Robinson; the Revd Peter Dobson; the Revd Fiona Sample; Mrs Jennie Jones; Mr David Jowett
In Attendance: Property Manager; Diocesan Secretary; Property Assistant

Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC) 

The Dioceses, Pastoral and Mission Measure 2007 provided for the appointment of a new committee in each diocese to replace the pastoral committee and the redundant churches uses committee. These functions are now contained in Part 2 of the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011, with Schedule 1 of this Measure providing for its constitution and procedure.

The DMPC's functions include:

  • reviewing arrangements for pastoral supervision and care in the diocese;
  • preparing strategies or proposals for making better provision for the cure of souls, which may include reorganisation, and making recommendations to the Bishop;
  • carrying out responsibilities in relation to the future of churches no longer required for public worship.

Chair: The Revd Canon P M Scott
Secretary: Mrs Carol Hepple, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4120 E-mail:
Membership: The Revd Canon Paul Scott; the Ven Geoff Miller; the Ven Peter Robinson; the Revd Steve Wilkinson; the Revd Canon Stephen Herbert; Miss Pauline Purves; Mrs Lynn Craggs; Mr Ian Hankinson; Mr A Evans
In Attendance: Secretary to the DMPC; Diocesan Secretary; Ecumenical Officer

Diocesan Society

Chair: Canon G J Baker-Cresswell
Secretary: the Diocesan Secretary, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4114 E-mail

Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (DAC)

The Committee's primary function is to advise the Chancellor on all applications for permission to carry out works on/to churches and churchyards. Parishes are encouraged to contact the Committee via the Secretary at Church House prior to making any application for faculty or other permission.

The members of Committee are experts in some relevant discipline relating to historic buildings, or have a particular interest in the care or use of church buildings. As such the Committee is well able to offer helpful advice to parishes seeking to maintain their properties or to adapt, extend or improve them. Members serve on the Committee without payment and advice is free to parishes.

Click here for more about the DAC

Chair: Canon Roger Styring
Committee Secretary: Mrs Lucy Burfield, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4127 E-mail:

Panel of Examiners and Assessors 

Ministry Division Selectors
Senior Selector:  Ven Bob Langley 

The Newcastle Vacancy in See Committee

The Committee meets when the post of Bishop of Newcastle becomes vacant to make recommendations about a new appointment. The Committee elects six of its members to serve on the Crown Nominations Commission. Following the announcement of the retirement of the Bishop of Newcastle the Vacancy in See Committee will hold its first meeting on:

Chair: The Very Revd Christopher Dalliston

Secretary: The Diocesan Secretary


back to top

More information within this section