Diocese of Newcastle

Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC)

The Dioceses, Pastoral and Mission Measure 2007 provided for the appointment of a new committee in each diocese to replace the pastoral committee and the redundant churches uses committee. These functions are now contained in Part 2 of the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011, with Schedule 1 of this Measure providing for its constitution and procedure.

The DMPC's functions include:

  • reviewing arrangements for pastoral supervision and care in the diocese;
  • preparing strategies or proposals for making better provision for the cure of souls, which may include reorganisation, and making recommendations to the Bishop;
  • carrying out responsibilities in relation to the future of churches no longer required for public worship.

Chair: Liz Kerry

Secretary: Mrs Carol Hepple, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields, NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4120 E-mail: c.hepple@newcastle.anglican.org

Membership: Bishop of Newcastle (ex officio); Liz Kerry; Archdeacon of Northumberland (ex officio); Archdeacon of Lindisfarne (ex officio); Revd Canon Rachel Wood (elected); Miss Pauline Purves (elected); Mrs Lynn Craggs (elected); Mr Aidan Evans (elected)

Officers in attendance: Ms Janet Forrest, Canon Shane Waddle, the Revd Canon Rob Saner-Haigh

For more information about the DMPC, click here.