Diocese of Newcastle

General Synod Members

The Diocese of Newcastle is represented at the Church of England's General Synod by three Members of the House of Laity and three 'Proctors in Convocation' or members of the House of Clergy.

More information about the General Synod can be found using this link.

September 2019

Lower House of the Convocation of York:
Representation of the Electoral Area comprising the Diocese of Newcastle
Holding of an election to fill a casual vacancy.

As a result of the consecration of the Revd Canon Dagmar Winter as Bishop of Huntingdon a casual vacancy has arisen amongst the clerical members representing the Diocese of Newcastle in the Lower House of the Convocation of York.

The vacancy is to be filled under Rule 23 of the Clergy Representation Rules. 

The Presiding Officer for the election is Canon Shane Waddle. The Electoral Registration Officer is Jackie Thompson.

The timetable to fill the election is as follows:

Notification to electors of the election timetable to be followed
in the diocese and issue of nomination papers
Wednesday 25 September 2019
Notification of the validity of any nominationsAs soon as the nomination is received
Closing date for nominationsThursday 24 October 2019
Issue of ballot papersWednesday 30 October 2019
Closing date for return of ballot papersThursday 21 November 2019
Day of the countFriday 22 November 2019
Name and address of the proctor elected and result sheet 
to be sent to the Clerk to the Synod and to the Election
Not later than fourth working day
after the date of the declaration of
the result

Forms supporting the election process have been despatched. For ease of reference these are included 
in the table below:

CV19 01Notification of the election to fill a casual vacancy
CV19 02Nomination form to be used
CV19 03Notes to accompany the process

Please contact the Presiding Officer, Canon Shane Waddle, if you have any questions about the above.
Tel: 0191 270 4114

October 2015

The 2015 Elections to the General Synod have now been completed and the following were elected to serve:

House of Laity




Proctors in Convocation



DAGMAR WINTER (served to 3rd July 2019)

Use this link to download the form of Return of Election Result for the House of Laity

Use this link to download the form of Return of Election Result for the Proctors in Convocation

The full list of candidates who stood for election was:

House of Laity (three places):

APPLEBY, John Christopher
AYERST, John Brendan Ogilvy
BISHOP, Cynthia Dorothy
BULL, John William
EXHAM, Sheffield
McDONALD-BOOTH, Isabella May
PEARSON, John Stephen David

Proctors in Convocation (three places):

APPLEBY, Janet Elizabeth
BUXTON, Nicholas Alexander Vavasseur
CURTIS, Anthony Gordon
MARKS, Allan Willi
PICKFORD, Catherine Ruth
ROBINSON, Peter John Alan
SINCLAIR, John Robert
STOBER, Brenda Jacqueline
WINTER, Dagmar

The Members of the two houses who were elected in October 2010 to serve for five years were:

Members of the House of Laity

Dr John Bull,
Mrs Margaret White,
Canon Carol Wolstenholme,

Members of the House of Clergy

The Revd Janet Appleby,
The Revd Canon John Sinclair,

The Revd Canon Dr Dagmar Winter,.