Vacancy in See Committee

Current activity

The Vacancy in See Committee was convened in November 2021 on the retirement of the Rt Revd Christine Hardman. The Committee worked throughout December 2021 and into January and February 2022. The Committee has now completed its work.

What was the Committee tasked to do?

The Committee was tasked with the preparation of a Statement of Needs for the Crown Nominations Commission. The Commission is the body which is responsible for nominating the next Bishop of Newcastle. The Commitee was also tasked with providing a description of the Diocese.

The documents the Committee has submitted to the Commission are available using these links:

The Committe was also tasked with electing six from its members to be members of the Newcastle Crown Nominations Commission. The Commission is scheduled to meet on 7th June 2022 and again on 18th-19th July 2022.

The six members elected by the Committee are:

The Ven Rachel Wood The Revd Canon Ian Flintoft The Revd Yvette Daniel
Liz Kerry Canon Izzy McDonald-Booth John Marshall

Please hold the six elected members in your prayers.

You can contact the six elected members by e-mail to:

Use this link to find more information about the process for appointing a diocesan bishop.

Bishop Mark you to join him in praying for the appointment of the next Bishop of Newcastle

Who were the members of the Vacancy in See Committee?

Members of the Vacancy in See Committee for this Vacancy in the See of Newcastle were:

Committee Chair

Sir Philip Mawer

Elected Members

Prof Richard Allsop (laity)
The Revd Tom Birch (clergy)
The Revd Elizabeth Brown (clergy)
Lynne Craggs (laity)
Chris Hudson (laity)
Liz Kerry (laity)
Bill Lomas (laity)
John Marshall (laity)
Sally Milner (laity)

Nominated Members

The Revd Dr Gill Alexander (clergy)
The Revd Yvette Daniel (clergy)
Canon Simon Harper (laity)
Shirley Morgan (laity)

Ex-Officio Members

Canon Brian Hurst - Chair of the House of Clergy
Canon Izzy McDonald Booth - Chair of the House of Laity
The Very Revd Geoff Miller - Dean
The Ven Dr Catherine Sourbut Groves - Archdeacon of Lindisfarne and Committee Deputy Chair
The Ven Rachel Wood - Archdeacon of Northumberland
The Rt Revd Mark Wroe: Suffragan Bishop of Berwick
The Revd Claire Robson: General Synod Member
The Revd Canon Ian Flintoft: General Synod Member
The Revd Robert Lawrance: General Synod Member
Lt Gen Robin Brims: General Synod Member
Mrs Nicola Denyer: General Synod Member

Committee Secretary

Canon Shane Waddle 


Powered by Church Edit